7 Hidden features you should know about in Gmail

People only use their email inboxes to send and receive messages in most cases. But there are a lot of secret tricks you can use to speed up your workflow. We’re sharing the best Gmail tips and tricks you’ll use again and again on this page.

Many features within your Gmail inbox are difficult to find. Consider them like pearls inside of a clam. You can make your digital life much easier by discovering these 10 hidden Gmail features.

Let’s see the hidden features in the below section One by One

 1. Use the snooze button not to forget emails

Emails can be snoozed for later viewing with the Snooze feature. It’s like pinning a conversation so you can review it later. Depending on your preferences, a pre-determined or custom time can be set when the email will appear at the top of your inbox.

Select the email you’d like to revisit and click the clock icon on the far right:

By hitting Snooze, you can pick a time when you want to see the email again. Multiple messages can be snoozed at the same time if you select them all at once. Later on, snoozed emails can be found by clicking the Menu > Snoozed button.

   2. How to cancel a sent email

After you send an email, you can cancel it. In the lower left-hand corner of Gmail, you’ll see a little message box that says “Message sent.” Next to it are two options: Undo or View. Choose Undo to ensure your recipient doesn’t see the message.

This is what it looks like:

I have good news for you if you need more time to decide. It is possible to adjust the length of time before this option fades away. You can choose how long you have to take back an email by doing the following:

  1. Go to Gmail and select Settings.
  2. Then tap or click See all settings.
  3. You can select the length of the cancellation period next to Undo Send: five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.

Now you have more time to avoid mistakes in the future.

7 hidden features you should know about in Gmail

  3. Send emails on a schedule

If you want your email to go out at a specific time, don’t click Send. Instead, tap the downward arrow to the right of the Send button. You’ll see a little box that says Schedule Send.

Depending on when you want it to go, you can decide when it should go. Until the appropriate time, it will sit in the Scheduled folder. No matter how many times you reschedule it, you can cancel it.

  4. Another useful Gmail tip is to mute threads.

There are times when you’re part of an email conversation that no longer pertains to you. By selecting the conversation and clicking More > Mute, you can mute it. The conversation will be removed from your inbox and have it sent to your archives.

  5. Turn on the Confidential mode.

Send a confidential message to protect sensitive data. People can’t forward, copy, print or download your message or attachments. Message expiration dates can also be set for your emails, or a verification code can be sent via text before someone opens the message. To enable this, log in to your administrator account.

On the Admin console Home page, click Apps. Go to Google Workspace > Gmail > User settings > Confidential mode. Then, select Enable confidential mode. Click Save, and you’re done with it Accessing Gmail even when offline

Even if the internet is down, you can still send emails. Go to Gmail offline settings and check the box next to Enable offline mail. Click Save Changes, and you’re good to go.

6. Track if someone opened your email

After we have covered some of the best Gmail tips and tricks, it’s time to check out Gmail extensions. Over 2 million users use Email Tracker for Gmail and for a good reason. Using it, you’ll receive follow-up alerts, mail merge, and link tracking features for free.

You never know when someone has opened an email using Gmail without add-ons. Using this extension, you can rest assured that the person you emailed saw your message. In addition, you may want to check out other reputable extensions.

7. Adding a delegate

Never share your password with anyone. However, you can share an inbox with someone. Someone you grant access to your Gmail account can use filters to sort emails, archive emails, and use labels to organize emails. Additionally, they can send and read messages.

Go to Settings > See all settings > Accounts and Import or Account > Add another account in Gmail to add a delegate. Please enter the email address of your delegate and click Next Step > Send email to grant access.

 

1 thought on “7 Hidden features you should know about in Gmail”

Leave a Comment